Ó Domhnaill urges Govt to accept Donegal applications for sports funding


Donegal Senator Brian Ó Domhnaill has received confirmation from the Department of Tourism & Sport that Donegal sporting and community organisations submitted a total of 110 applications under the 2012 Sports Capital Programme.


The Fianna Fáil Senator said, “Sport and recreation play a valued role in our communities here in Donegal.  The provision of good sport and recreation facilities brings communities together and allows everyone to engage in physical activity at all levels.


“It is a credit to our local sporting organisations that so many applied for funding other the Sports Capital Programme this year. A total of 110 applications were submitted by Donegal organisations and the total value being sought is in the region of €12 million.


“Nationally 2,175 applications were received. I understand from the Department that all applications are currently being processed. It is expected that the successful applicants will be announced before Christmas.  I am urging the Department to notify successful applicants as quickly as possible so that they can budget for the next 12 months.


“Sport is an important part of the fabric of life here in Donegal. I urge the Government to look favourably on all the Donegal applications given the massive increase in sporting activity in all sports and at all levels in this county in recent years,” said Senator Ó Domhnaill.



Note to Editor:  Please see below list of Sports Capital Grant applications per county this year


County  No. of applications Amount Sought
Carlow                     42


Cavan                     60


Clare                     72


Cork                  219


Donegal                  110


Dublin                  282


Galway                  163


Kerry                     95


Kildare                     77


Kilkenny                     48


Laois                     39


Leitrim                     30


Limerick                  117


Longford                     30


Louth                     59


Mayo                  114


Meath                     74


Monaghan                     48


Offaly                     45


Roscommon                     47


Sligo    48


Tipperary                     95


Waterford                     69


Westmeath                     43


Wexford                     93


Wicklow                     56


Grand Total          2,175




Posted: Oct 22, 2012     |     Categories: Uncategorized